It’s Only a Play

IT'S ONLY A PLAY

Written by Terrence McNally

Mainstage: November 2-19, 2017

It's the opening night of The Golden Egg on Broadway, and the wealthy producer is throwing a lavish party in her lavish Manhattan townhouse. Downstairs the celebrities are pouring in, but the real action is upstairs where a group of insiders have staked themselves out in the producer's bedroom, waiting for the reviews to come in. Included are the excitable young author; the brilliant but unstable director; the pill-popping leading lady; and the playwright's best friend, an egotistical but insecure comic actor. Also present are a fawning, hypocritical drama critic; a would-be singer working as a part-time servant; and a hard-boiled lady taxi driver who has seen it all, many times over. The good natured bonhommie with which the evening begins grows steadily nastier—and funnier—as the reviews (all bad) come in, and those assembled seek desperately to pin the blame on each other.

Audience Advisory: This play contains some strong profanity and depictions of drug use. Viewer discretion advised. 

Show Sponsor

SaveSave

Performances

Dates & Times

Thursday, November 2 • 8pm
Friday, November 3 • 8pm
Saturday, November 4 • 8pm
Sunday, November 5 • 2 pm

Friday, November 10 • 8pm
Saturday, November 11 • 8pm
Sunday, November 12 • 2pm

Friday, November 17 • 8pm
Saturday, November 18 • 8pm
Sunday, November 19 • 2pm

Meet the Stars

Cast and Crew

Production Staff

Director: Matthew Watson
Set Designer: Stephen "Jack" Jammer
Costumes: Wanda Tillman